Artist Profile: Ckei

Ckei is a Las Vegas born rapper and Musician who currently lives in California, a place that has made him feel stuck for years. He often mentions his struggles growing up, and, in his song “Closure”, the painful situation that changed him and his life forever.

How did this music journey start?

I was born and raised in the beautiful city of Las Vegas, Nevada, USA where i lived with my grandmother for the Majority of my life growing up until in 2017 she tragically passed away. During that time i had decided that i wanted to do music. I fell in love with someone who i always told my dream about, and she had went on vacation by herself in which something tragic had happened to her. This stayed in the forefront of her mind and eventually led to her committing suicide. This led me into a long state of depression for a long time until i remembered the promise i had made her to create music, and to this day i will continue to live out that promise. My main goal in music is to change lives, and to bring awareness to mental health and suicide.

What’s your favourite song EVER and why?

My favorite song ever is closure, this song was made in my darkest time and was dedicated to her. It’s the anthem of my music career and will be re-released soon as a Remastered Version.

Tell us about the creative process! Where and how was the track produced?

This track was originally wrote in my car in the deepest hour of my depression, when i began to write what i would say if i had a few more minutes to say anything to her.

What motivates your music and what inspired this release?

The motivation of my music is to help other people who are going through depression, family problems, or any other painful situation. The inspiration of this release is growing up coming from nothing, and with only a small group of loved ones behind you how it’s possible to make something out of nothing.

Who would you recommend your audience to listen to? 

I recommend my audience also checks out Ellie Goulding, Breana Marin, and NF, as their music has changed my life.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started